Tags

, , , , , , ,

Title: Fantasy Lover by Sherrilyn Kenyon (Dark Hunters #0)

Format: paperback

Published: January 31st, 2002

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Mythology,

Synopsis (from Goodreads)Dear Reader,

Being trapped in a bedroom with a woman is a grand thing. Being trapped in hundreds of bedrooms over two thousand years isn’t. And being cursed into a book as a love-slave for eternity can ruin even a Spartan warrior’s day.

As a love-slave, I know everything about women. How to touch them, how to savor them, and most of all, how to pleasure them. But when I was summoned to fulfill Grace Alexander’s sexual fantasies, I found the first woman in history who saw me as a man with a tormented past. She alone bothered to take me out of the bedroom and onto the world. She taught me to love again.

But I was not born to love. I was cursed to walk eternity alone. As a general, I had long ago accepted my sentence. Yet now I have found Grace–the one thing my wounded heart cannot survive without. Sure, love can heal all wounds, but can it break a two-thousand-year-old curse?

Julian of Macedon

Review: 

It’s a fairly simple story. A lonely drunk woman accidentally summons a sex slave who has been trapped in a book for the past two thousand years – in many ways it’s a similar concept to the TigerMan in a box from Tiger Eye (Dirk and Steele #1). But I really enjoyed how Kenyon approached it. Grace had a naivety about her which was maybe a little confusing considering her profession as a sex therapist. Whilst her own background and lack of knowledge in all things sexual did add to the story and made her relationship with Julian all the more romance – I don’t think she’d be the sort of sex therapist that would have a thriving practice and I’d be checking her credentials to make sure they weren’t forgeries.

There were times when my heart bled a little for Julian. He managed to not be the hardened and jaded hero that immortals often tend to be. He’s feeling and is a perfectly sweet and sexy lover. I’m a fan.

This book was a quick and fun one for me to read but it’s very light – there’s not much to the story except for the romance. Grace’s back story was a little flimsy and Julian, if anything, was a little too perfect but sometimes you need a light-hearted book.

I thought this was the perfect introduction to the Dark Hunters series. It’s very romance centric and doesn’t get at all confusing with all the world building but does have some connection with the books that follow. It’s not necessary to read this book in order to understand the Dark Hunter series but it’s very sweet.

 

3.5 out of 5

Purchase book at:

Book Depository / Amazon