Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Title: Succubus Blues by Richelle Mead (Georgina Kincaid #1)

Format: paperback

First Published: March 1st, 2007

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, Demons, Angels, Vampires

Synopsis (from Goodreads)“Something wicked is at work in Seattle’s demon underground…”

Being a succubus sounds pretty glamorous. Shape-shifting, killer wardrobe, what’s not to like? But Georgina Kincaid’s life is far from exotic. Her boss is a middle-management demon with a thing for John Cusack movies, and she can’t have a decent date without sucking away part of the guy’s life, which means her crush on sexy writer Seth Mortensen is going nowhere fast. But all of that pales in significance when an unknown entity “helpfully” begins killing her immortal adversaries. For once, all her hot charms and drop-dead one-liners won’t help, because there are some creatures out there that both heaven and hell want to deny…

Review: 

“Statistics show that most mortals sell their souls for five main reasons: sex, money, power, revenge, and love. In that order. I suppose that I should have been resassured, then, that i was out here assisting with numero uno, but the whole situation just made me feel … well, sleazy. And coming from me, that was something.”

From the first line, Georgina Kincaid was a heroine I could tell I was going to like. Novels written from the first person perspective usually aren’t my cup of tea but I enjoyed her self-deprecating humour and the way she approached life. Despite being a succubus (sex demon) on the side of dark and living for centuries, she savours the things she values in life – like reading only five pages a day of her favourite novels because there’s only that once you can read a book for the first time. I’ve read many novels with immortal main characters but Georgina stood out to me. She’s modern and takes care to keep up with the language and customs of the present day, very careful not to date herself.

This book had the potential to be quite dark but it managed to be light hearted. The idea of a sex demon with a personal code of conduct and a reasonably strong moral compass amused me. I loved the witty one liners Georgina threw around and her relationships with the males in this book. And there were a fair few male characters that complicated Georgina’s life – From Hugh the imp and Peter and Cody the vampires to Warren and Doug – co-workers of Georgina’s at the Emerald City book store – and can’t be forgetting Seth and Roman, they all seemed to complicate her life. It was amusing to see that a succubus who by profession was sexually in control to be so mixed up over men.

I found this book to be a little slow after the first chapter – a lot of groundwork to lay – but it picked up reasonably quickly and was a very entertaining read. I guessed who the villain was fairly early on but I was still looking forward to and was extremely eager to find out exactly how everything played out in the end. The characters are really what make this book as good as I found it – especially Georgina. I love the sex demon who was jaded regarding making love still just wanted to love and be loved in return. She’s incredibly sweet for someone who is as sexual and sensual as she is. I love the message that there’s always hope and that love is something that is attainable for anyone and everyone. One of my favourite quotes from the novel came from the angel Carter: “Love is rarely flawless … It is the imperfection that makes love perfect”. For a hopeless romantic like myself it’s lines like this that make me adore books. I have already bought the second book in this series.

Rating: 

3.5 out of 5

Purchase book at:

Book Depository / Amazon / FishPond

